Educational Programme

All professionals who work with children under the age of five follow “The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework”. This document explains how seven areas of learning and development are used as a base to support children in the acquisition ok knowledge, skills and understanding.

In the earliest years the main focus is on three prime areas which are likely to develop first. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development

Skills will begin to emerge in four specific areas of learning as children progress with the prime areas:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design

At Great Expectations we work closely with parents to gain an understanding of every child’s capabilities and interests before building a range of tailored experiences in line with the areas of learning.

We than observe closely and continue to work with parents to ensure all experiences continually challenge and stimulate each child and help them make progress in their learning.

“The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework” document can be read here.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This